Home > Faculty

Faculty and Presenters


Programme Convener

Prof Peter Martinez SpaceLab, Department of Electrical Engineering, UCT



Adj Prof Pierre Cilliers Researcher, SANSA Space Science, Hermanus and Department of Electrical Engineering, UCT

Dr Frank Eckardt Senior Lecturer, Department of Environmental and Geographical Science, UCT

Assoc. Prof Jane English  Head of the Professional Communication Studies and Services Department (PCS) in the Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment at the University of Cape Town 

Dr Annette Froehlich Resident Fellow, European Space Policy Institute (ESPI) and Adjunct Senior Lecturer, SpaceLab, UCT

Prof Mike Inggs Radar and Remote Sensing Group, Department of Electrical Engineering, UCT

Dr Phil Janney Department of Geological Sciences, UCT

Hon Assoc. Prof Rene Laufer Dept of Electrical Engineering, UCT, and Dept of Computer Science, Electrical and Space Engineering, Lulea University of Technology, Kiruna, Sweden 

Visiting and Guest Lecturers: 

Mr James Adams Deputy Chief Technologist, NASA Headquarters​

Mr Mark Comninos Managing Director, MARCOM Aeronautics & Space (Pty) Limited

Mr Ken Davidian  AST Director of Research and Program Manager for the FAA Center of Excellence for Commercial Space Transportation

Dr Pieter de Villiers Rheinmetall, South Africa

Dr Jeanine Engelbrecht Senior Researcher in the field of Synthetic Aperture Radar at the CSIR Meraka Institute

Dr Daniel Furst  Head of External Relations for RUAG Space Switzerland since November 2009

Mr Keith Gottschalk Fulbright Scholar and former Head of Department of Political Studies at University of the Western Cape 

Dr. Peter Jankowitsch was Permanent Representative to the United Nations (New York), the OECD and ESA in the Austrian Foreign Service and a member of the Austrian Federal Government (Minister of Foreign Affairs) and the Austrian Parliament. Pierre Lionnet  Director of Research at EUROSPACE

Dr. Xavier Pasco (Doct. In Political Science- University of Paris-Sorbonne) is a Senior Research Fellow at the Fondation pour la Recherche Stratégique (FRS) based in Paris 

Prof Scott Madry University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Prof Joseph Pelton Director Emeritus, Space and Advanced Communications Research Institute, George Washington University, USA

Dr Dumitru-Dorin Prunariu Romanian Space Agency

Ms Carla Sharpe Square Kilometre Array Project Office, South Africa

Mr Ruediger Suess German Aerospace Center (DLR) German Remote Sensing Data Center

Dr Hannes Taubenböck  German Aerospace Center (DLR) German Remote Sensing Data Center

Dr Henry Throop  Senior Scientist, Planetary Science Institute, USA and Senior Lecturer, University of Pretoria, South Africa

Mr Jean-Jacques Tortora  Secretary General of ASD-Eurospace

Prof Ray WIlliamson Senior Advisor and former Executive Director, Secure World Foundation, USA